The Next Big Thing Blog Hop

I was very kindly nominated by for The Next Big Thing Blog Hop by Elizabeth MacAndrew.

I’m really excited to do this because I had no idea what I was going to post today and because everyone likes getting recognition. I’m going to just be happy and say YAY me!

What is the working title of your book?

The Abassi Expedition

Where did the idea come from for the book?

Well, I just kind of got the idea of this scene of a young girl reading in Victorian England while it just poured and poured. And while she’s reading, a young man who she’s only ever heard of, shows up to recruit her for the queen’s air force. She’s quite the inventor but even more the pilot. Then I read an article, about all the dystopia’s being published in YA that hinted at the idea of making something more exciting and less depressing. So I thought, okay, I want to write an adventure book. So I started morphing things and working with my friend, Sabrina A Fish, to bang out a plot.

What genre does your book fall under?

YA Steampunk Adventure

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

Alice, William, and Morris leave their cozy colony on the planet Kepler to explore the Wilds in search of a miracle and adventure.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

Alice: Rana Al Abiad because she’s kind of innocent looking, matches ethnicity perfectly; William: Zac Efron because he has the right airs about him, but he’d need to get his hair bleached a bit (he’d need brown contacts); Morris: Jesse Williams because he’s just awesome and matches Morris perfectly; Xui Li: Yifei Liu for the look; Eli: James McAvoy because he’s got the disheveled nerd look going on; Jane: Leighton Meester just cause; Davorin: Ahmed Zabedybecause of ethnicity and eye candy; Nicholas (Alice’s dad): Dermot Mulroney because he’s got the right look; Bill (Will’s dad): Robert Downey Jr because he’s got the right attitude and bearing. That’s probably enough. It was really, really fun though.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

Hopefully traditionally published.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

Welp, I technically started it last August and the first draft will be done by December SO 1 year and 3 months. But really, I only worked on it for 3 months (if you ignore the procrastination).

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

The Golden Compass meets Alice in Wonderland.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

I spend a lot of time with teenagers so I feel like my characters are realistic. Plus it’s an upbeat adventure story about kids in space. Who wouldn’t want to read that?

For the Next Big Thing Blog Hop, I nominate: Sabrina A Fish and Dan Harris!

Leave a Reply

