Reblog Wednesday: Join the Eclectic Reader Challenge 2013 with me!

Today, Stephanie over at Misprinted Pages posted a great blog post about diversifying her own reading and I have decided to take up the same mantle. You can read about the Eclectic Reader Challenge here: Join the Eclectic Reader Challenge 2013 with me!.

I decided to do this because too often I fall into reading the same books or types of books. We ALL have a HUGE stack of books we want to read but look at them: are they all one genre? Mine fall into the same few: fantasy, dystopia, YA, sci-fi.

Even if you look at the book list I presented Monday (Book Round-Up, Incoming!), pretty much every book falls into that category. Sure, they take up others–but is that really pushing myself to explore more? I don’t think so.

There is a theory that because of all of the books published each year (about 89,000) and the sorting technologies of the internet (Amazon, Goodreads, etc), that we could conceivably read hundreds of books without leaving one genre. That doesn’t make it right! So, I’m challenging myself to get out of that pattern and I challenge you to!

6 thoughts on “Reblog Wednesday: Join the Eclectic Reader Challenge 2013 with me!

  1. starstealer363

    The last time I had a gift card to a bookstore, I specifically went in to buy books that were not in my genre of choice and by authors I had never heard of or I had never sampled personally.

    Hopefully, I’ll get some new gift cards this year to do the same…

    Reply
      1. starstealer363

        I like writing books – but it is true you need to read them to get any benefit out of them. T-shirt… well yeah… I don’t go to a McDonalds looking for a fine wine – the same applies to t-shirts in book stores…

  2. Stephanie

    Yay! I’m glad others are just as inspired to try this as I am. Let me know if you have any good ideas for the challenge categories — or if you want to read one of the same books!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

