Graphic Novels – Book Round-Up

I’d like to start this post off explaining that I’m not a huge fan of graphic novels and comics. I am a visual learner but for some reason, I’ve just never gotten into graphic novels. With that said, you can assume any graphic novel I talk about is going to be good.

Serenity

Links: Author Page, Amazon, Goodreads.com, Barnes & Noble

The graphic novels I read are Those Left BehindBetter Days, and The Shepherd’s Tale.

I picked up these graphic novels because I am in love with Firefly (sci-fi/western). If you’re not familiar with Firefly, you should be. Joss Whedon, creator of Buffy: The Vampire Slayer and Angel, created a sci-fi western and it’s… impeccable. The characters, the world, the plots–they’re perfect. This one season show was flawless (despite being cancelled). To understand the graphic novels, you’d have to be familiar with the show. To have a purposeful existence, you have to be familiar with the show so check it out.

As for my opinions of the novels, they were interesting but short. There is something missing in the graphic novel–depth and length. The plots fit in with Whedon’s storylines and they’re great, but I prefer the film/tv format.

Girls with Slingshots

Links: Author Page, Amazon, Goodreads.com

As you can see, Girls with Slingshots is a story about two girls witha little bit of nudity, a bit of sexiness, and a bit of crazy. I love GWS because Danielle Corsetto is hilarious, honest, and daring. She’s a feminist and she brings that out in her storyline and her blog. I like that her female characters are strong in a way that isn’t overtly feminist; it brings a realism to her stories.

I love the things she ties into her story: heartbreak, love, friendships, work, money. She plays with these struggles that we all go through that easy to relate to and her levity helps readers to get over their own issues.

I also love the webcomic turned book format because it seems to me to have more story than art. I really struggle with graphic novels because there just seems to be so little story.

Questionable Content

Links: Author Page, Amazon, Goodreads.com

One thing I really like about QC are the just strange characters that Jacques had created. He made a rather demented and perverted robot, an OCD woman who grew up on a space station, and a geeky cyborg all mixed with seemingly normal new adults. The story line, like GwS includes many real issues (job loss, relationship issues, etc) with humor. The characters are extremely deep and likeable and quickly become familiar.

Again, with the webcomic turned book, the story seems more developed more substantial than that of a graphic novel.

I don’t have much to say about these graphic novels because their brevity causes a small disconnect for me. They don’t seem substantial.

That said, a few years ago, I read Runaways a few years ago and absolutely loved it and this year I plan on reading Amulet and The Watchmen

2 thoughts on “Graphic Novels – Book Round-Up

  1. AK

    I’ve really been getting into graphic novels and comics because I’ve been inspired to write one. I am hooked on Neil Gaiman’s “Sandman” series, as well as Bill Willingham’s “Fables” series.

    I’d read some graphic work before. I’m glad you mentioned the brevity as a big reason why you don’t connect. My biggest barrier to getting into them is that they are more expensive than regular books, and about 1/3 of the reading time. I go so fast, it doesn’t seem to be “worth it” unless the stories are really compelling. If you haven’t read “V for Vendetta”, I highly recommend it.

    Also glad to see “The Watchmen” is already on your list. 🙂

    You might also really appreciate Scott McCloud’s “Understanding Comics” – it’s a book about the art and science behind comics – how they grab a reader in different ways, the tricks and ploys of the medium. It’s a little wordy, but vastly informative.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

