5 Abandoned Books – Book Round-Up

Last year (2011), I decided to stop trying to force myself to finish books I really didn’t like. With the advent of the internet, my desire to figure out how things ended is quite easy to appease. Now, to abandon a book (not just set it down for a later time), a book has to be just really… bad. And that almost always applies to the writing. It’s not usually the story that I can’t stand, it’s almost always the writing. So let’s get to it and I’ll give you some details as to what I mean.

Daughter of the Blood

Links: Author Page, Amazon, Goodreads.com, Barnes & Noble

I downloaded this book because I like epic fantasy and vampires. It was supposed to be pleasure reading. It was not.

Bishop seemed over-worried about people thinking her fantasy world was detailed enough which led to her characters CONSTANTLY talking about the world and it’s design so much so that I was confused (cliche names were flying everywhere attached to random colors). It’s like a draft of a manuscript in which the writing shows some clear attempt at revision (syntax was phenomenal) but lacks the development of the action of the scenes to properly tell the story.

Ignoring the confusion, the characters felt like cliche cardboard cutouts whom I developed absolutely no interest in. Good premise, horrible follow through.

I know quite a few people like this book and the rest of Bishops work but calling this high or epic fantasy is a joke. It’s horrible and horribly written.

City of Bones

Links: Author Page, Amazon, Goodreads.com, Barnes & Noble

I started City of Bones because of the hype and hey the cover is neat looking. Also, it was listed as having steampunk elements somehwere (that was a lie). Okay… let’s get to business. I thought Clare was about… 14 based on the writing of this. From my understanding it started as a Draco/Ginny fanfic. NOW I wrote Draco/Ginny fanfics when Iw was fourteen, and upon returning to those (I’m linking this but I think it’s a bad idea: HP fanfics for my intense embarassment [it’s the 2nd story]), I can verify they are better written. I’m not saying little 14 year old me deserves to be published, she doesn’t, and neither does Clare. I’m sorry for all the people that love her books, they’re crap. She attempts to add detail by adding adjectives, horrible ones at that, and it’s just… torture. I have nothing else to say other than–no. Just no.

Aaron and Keja

Links: Author Page, Amazon, Goodreads.com, Barnes & Noble

No.

This book was so bad it made me angry enough to post a really nasty Goodreads review. Just move on.

Dark Prince

Links: Author Page, Amazon, Goodreads.com, Barnes & Noble

Sometimes, my friend Sabrina has really great book recommendations (Mistborn Trilogy), and sometimes she doesn’t. This is a time she didn’t. I tried to read this but… my opinion of this serious is so black it’s raven like the hair of the MC, RAVEN. Yep. Moving on, Sabrina said that Feehan created a really cool fantasy world in which vampires start out as good (Carpathians) but loneliness drives them to become animals. I agree with Sabrina, this is a really interesting idea. The writing, however, and characters were so bad that I just couldn’t keep going. If you don’t mind bad writing, check it out.

Maximum Ride

Links: Author Page, Amazon, Goodreads.com, Barnes & Noble

I don’t know much about James Patterson, but after reading a few chapters of this book–I actively don’t want to know any more. The idea behind Maximum Ride is similar to one I have toyed with–genetically altered kids. This group are all bird children with gimmicky comic book nicknames and the narrator–annoying.  I think this guy Joe got it right on the money with his review:

The stilted narration, provided by the “edgy” Maximum Ride, perhaps one of the most grating heroines in YA literature, is weakened by attempts to provide three-dimensionality to her character through her thoughtful analyses of those around her. Unfortunately, Patterson’s creativity as a writer is strictly limited to half-baked and poorly described battle sequences, so Ride’s introspection is relegated to heinous platitudes like, “It was like I had just lost my baby sister. And like I had lost my little girl” (p.25). (Guess what, Sister Girl… you did.)

The premise was fine but Patterson tanked it with this crappy, crappy story about a group of kids I couldn’t care less about.

I get a little meaner about books I don’t like than books that I do. I’m sure some of you have read these books and love them, that’s cool. There’s a reason why we’re different people! 🙂

See you Wednesday with a great reblog!

2 thoughts on “5 Abandoned Books – Book Round-Up

  1. Ken

    I’m glad I’m not the only one who didn’t like the writing in City of Bones. Her other series, Clockwork Angel, is better. I had to really twist my own arm to try it, though.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

