2013 Eclectic Reader Challenge Update

In December, I reblogged a friend’s article on the Eclectic Reader Challenge.

Afterwards, I decided to start doing some research to find the PERFECT books to fit this challenge. I decided to share that progress with you and ask for suggestions from around the web! While the challenge is just for 12 books, my goal every year is 100 so recommendations are always welcome!

Translated Fiction. This isn’t a stretch for me, Murakami’s “Norweigan Wood” and Marquez’s “100 Years in Solitude” are two of my favorite novels. However, if I’m not pushed to read in this genre, I don’t! How lazy. So I looked through a list of translated books on Wikipedia, not just translated but award winning. These two from 2012 were enticing to me: Lightning: A Novel by Jean Echenoz and Never Any End to Paris by Enrique Vila-Matas. Lightning is about Nikola Tesla and as he’s kind of a huge deal in the world of steampunk I really SHOULD read it. Never Any End to Paris is about writing and literature which is just my kind of book. I think I’ll check both out.

Historical Mystery. One of the series I discussed last month, the Parasol Protectorate series by Gail Carriger, fits into this genre. So this is nothing new but I am going to purposely avoid speculative fiction this time and be very strict with the genre. I just went to the “Historical Mystery” genre page on Goodreads.com. My two for now are: The House of Silk: A Sherlock Holmes Novel by Anthony Horowitz and A Spy in the House (The Agency #1) by Y.S. Lee. I picked House of Silk because I love Horowitz’s Alex Rider series and Sherlock can sometimes have a tie into steampunk. A Spy in the House is a Victorian novel so that may help out a bit with my atmosphere.

Romantic Suspense. The first few books on Goodread.com’s most read list were 50 Shades of Gray and the like. I won’t be reading those. I picked First Grave on the Right (Charley Davidson #1) by Darynda Jones and Something About You (FBI / US Attorney #1) by Julie JamesFirst Grave on the Right was picked because I love the idea of grim reapers thanks to “Dead Like Me.” I’m pretty excited to check it out. And Something About You I picked because I love cop shows like CSI, NCIS, Blue Collar, Bones, etc.  Speaking of, I’m going to check out Déjà Dead (Temperance Brennan #1) by Kathy Reichs this year too.

Made into a Movie. PERFECT, I’ve been needing to read Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy and Les Miserables by Victor Hugo. I also want to re-read the Hunger Games series.

New Adult. I started my search for this genre on Goodreads and found the New Adult genre page. Despite the fact that this genre is supposed to focus in on the coming-of-age stories that occur after high school in that 18-25 years old range, all of the books on the Goodreads page are romance novels. That makes me very sad. I found three books so far that are not romance: I Am Everyone I Meet: Random Encounters On The Streets Of Los Angeles by James P. WhiteMove: YA Contemporary by Brina Courtney, and For the Win by Cory Doctorow. I Am Everyone I Meet is a short book of encounters, simple enough, that seem really intriguing and really fall along the ideas of New Adult as I see them. Move is a story of a very abused, very unhappy ballerina that finds peace in her dancing. For the Win is a dystopia about video games. So that just sounds fantastic. I found four other books that associate heavily with the romance part of New Adult that I think I’ll check out: Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor, Collateral by Ellen Hopkins, Tiger’s Curse by Colleen Houckand, Miss Me Not by Tiffany King.  Daughter of Smoke & Bone is an angels/demons/urban fantasy that has an awesome book cover. Collateral is a free-verse poetry story from Crank’s Ellen Hopkins about a girl in an MFA program that falls in love with a Marine. Tiger’s Curse is the beginning of an epic fantasy-romance with magic, mythology, and tigers. Miss Me Not is the story of a young girl who commits to suicide but someone beats her, and her friend, to the punch and makes her rethink her decision.

Urban Fantasy. So I tried the urban fantasy “City of Bones” and I discussed in December why I just hated it. So, I’m weary of this genre. I know Jim Butcher is the king of urban fantasy with his Dresden Files series but because of his Furies of Calderon series, I’m worried about that. I’ll try the first book of the series, Storm Front by Jim Butcher. I picked three others to read as well: Elemental by Antony John, Divergent by Veronica Roth, Cinder by Marissa Meyer, and Neverwhere by Neil GaimanElemental seems like an epic fantasy filled with elemental magic and pirates. Divergent is another dystopia in which Beatrice comes-of-age and must decide between her family and herself. Cinder is a steampunk fairytale set in a dystopian future. Gaiman is an amazing writer and Neverwhere is the story of a man that gets pulled into an alternative reality.

Dystopian. I’ve already put a few dystopias on here so I’m going to go the classics route: Player Piano by Kurt Vonnegut, Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? by Philip K. Dick, A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess, and The Road by Cormac McCarthyPlayer Piano is Vonneguts first novel featuring a world dominated by a super computer. In Do Androids… the world has been irrevocably changed by war, so many have died that all life is venerated and held up on a pedestal. A Clockwork Orange is the story of a young man who is punished for a vicious crime through medical experimentation. In The Road, a father and son journey through a post-apocalyptic world because that’s all there is left to do.

Memoir. Finally, a genre I haven’t spent a lot of time in. So, I kind of just went by the seat of my pants searching for books that seemed worth reading. I picked: Running With Scissors by Augusten Burroughs, Me Talk Pretty One Day by David Sedaris, and Reading Lolita in Tehran by Azar NafisiRunning with Scissors is the story of a young man raised by a kooky psychiatrist that looks like Santa Clause. Me Talk Pretty One Day is the story of Sedaris’s move to Paris and his toying with the language. Reading Lolita is the story of a teacher bringing banned books to his female students in the Middle East.

GLBT. I’ve never read anything in this genre. I know a lot of straight women enjoy the M/M stuff so the romance of this genre can be pretty heavy. I decided to try to find books more about the journey instead of the smut. I picked: Sing You Home by Jodi Picoult, The World of Normal Boys by K.M. Soehnlein, and Someday This Pain Will Be Useful to You by Peter CameronSing You Home is the story of a young woman whose miscarriage leads her to therapy and ultimately a romantic love of her female counselor. I have heard good things about Jodi Picoult so that’s what lead me to this story. The World of Normal Boys is the story of a young man growing up int he 1970s that finds himself increasingly dissimilar to “normal” boys. Someday is the story of a young man who should be starting at Brown but would rather find a house in the country on his own.

Action Adventure. Speculative fiction is full of action and adventure so this is an easy genre to fill! I decided to go with the cool covers route to picking books: The Maze Runner by James Dashner, The Marbury Lens by Andrew Smith, and If We Survive by Andrew KlavanMaze Runner is the story of Thomas who wakes up in the Glade without any knowledge of who he is or how he got there. The Marbury Lens is a steampunk novel about Jack as he struggles to survive in this world and the one he can view through the Marbury Lens. In If We Survive, a group of missionaries get trapped in the middle of a revolution in Costa Verde.

Humor. I have read a few books on the humor list over at Goodreads like Soulless and Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. I like to laugh, so this will be great fun! I picked Fifty Shades of Mr Darcy: A Parody by William Codpiece Thwackery and Bossypants by Tina Fey. I picked the Fifty Shades parody because well it just seemed kind of funny. As for Bossypants, I’ve liked a lot of the little things I’ve read from Fey so I figured it was time to just go ahead and read her book.

2013. Well, 2013 has just arrived so this one will need some time before it can be completed!

Okay, this has been a long, long post. Has anyone read any of these books? What are your thoughts?

6 thoughts on “2013 Eclectic Reader Challenge Update

  1. C

    2 thoughts, since you already know how much I love Divergent 🙂

    1. Daughter of Smoke & Bone was amazing. Totally magical. I’m just about to start the sequel, so if you like it, there’s more!

    2. Sing You Home – probably not the Jodi Picoult book you want to start with. The GLBT thing is actually kind of minimized – central to the story but really not enough to make a real impact on the reader. If you want to try one of her stronger books, I’d go with The Pact or My Sister’s Keeper.

    This is a really long and ambitious list! Good luck!

    Reply
  2. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out

    Hi!
    I just wanted to stop by and welcome you to the Eclectic Reader Challenge and wish you good luck!

    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

    Reply

Leave a Reply

