Planning Your Story

Sometimes ideas come to us in the dead of the night and we write down a sentence, a paragraph, an idea. We get names from those characters come to life. But what’s next? What happens after you have a one paragraph or one page synopsis?

Research and planning.

After dredging up an old (worked on in high school) story, I thought–why not? It’s about time I got this idea out.

The first thing I needed to do was develop my own world of magic. I’m going to let you in on one type of magic that I decided to include: Feral Priests. Now, a feral priest can do three things: can communicate with animals, can share bodies with an animal, and can steal the abilities of an animal. Cool, cool but there has to be a cost or the world is just going to be a nutty, nutty place filled with superheroes. So, when feral priests speak with animals, they lose their voice for a time, when they share the body of an animal, they loose control over their own for a while, and if they steal the abilities of an animal, they kill it. I added four other priests with equivalent abilities and costs. It’s very important to set up your magic system so that you don’t run around with invincible characters (which I originally had).

So, then the MC was Aidan, but that name kind of took off so I rooted around the internet for the right name. I basically fleshed out the first few characters with Welsh names:

Cadogen (Cade), Mairwen, Bethan, Leolin, Owain, Roderick, Efion.

Then, I needed a city name for the starting place. I went to a site and just started writing down the names of cities in Wales that I liked:

Cardiff (Doctor Who?), Swansea, Caernaten, Brecon, Kilgetty

Then I started mixing them up:

Braed Macaediff Kilfair Caelfair Caelgetty Kilcaedon Braegetty Kill Caekilwen

No, my story is about a journey, so I built cities and name lists for each city. Then, shaped the plot–each city must be different! So, three cities, three unique experiences. Research for my first city is under-weigh: I’m researching Rome (which I’m familiar with anyway, thanks college!). As I research Rome, I think about how I can use their culture to supplement my story and flesh it out–maybe I’ll have a Colosseum, if there is a Colosseum then I’ll have to use it for it’s original purpose, for distracting citizens. So will my heroes fall to the trap and have to escape or will they break it? Either way, how will the trap be designed and how will they escape or break it?

After I figure out what the three cities are going to throw at my heroes, I’ll start working on a plot outline. I really like this set-up for the original plotting process:

I used this for the Abassi Expedition, the basic idea is that if you have 40 scenes, Act 1 is 10, Act 2 is 20, and Act 3 is 10. Or 60 Scenes: 15|30|15.

I broke out of this alter, but the idea of plotting this way really helped me set up. There are other plot charts:

This is another good image to have in mind as you plan, but it’s not as detailed. One thing, however, it makes important is the idea of constant upward movement–everything leading up to the climax must be rising action, if it’s not why have it there? It bogs the story down. Sure, it’s interesting, but if it’s not helping reach the climax, it’s a waste of space.

Again, I use that first chart back there and pick out all of the things listed starting with the Climax. What is the climax, why does it happen, and how do I get my characters there? Jason at Writing Possibilities also reminded me to find the motivation for my characters. And when I plotted the Abassi Expedition, Sabrina had me set up three struggles or conflicts for my characters: physical, mental, emotional.

As of right now, I spent a few hours Saturday just touching the surface of magic, character, and setting. Writing a novel, especially one in speculative fiction, is hard work. It’s not just sitting at the computer and writing. It’s planning, researching, and backtracking.

My next step is to use my new Campaign Cartographer to design my world and City Designer to work on the settings so that I can shape my plot.

8 thoughts on “Planning Your Story

  1. 3by3 writing method

    I totally agree, A novel is like a marathon. You have to prepare, plan train and most importantly know the route before you start. In order to make it to the finish line of a novel, you have to plan your conflicts, know your characters and you have to know how that story ends. Otherwise, you will be blocked, walking around in circles trying to figure out how all this resolves.
    A writer with a plan can finish.

    Reply
    1. melanie_unabridged Post author

      I don’t feel like I can add anything to this! It’s perfect. I don’t try to over plan, but I think writer’s block comes when you get to a fork and don’t know which way to go or you get to a dead-end. Once I plotted my novel, I wrote 70,000 words in two months. The writing, the part that needs to be free was because I knew where I was going.

      Reply
  2. Gemma Rolleman

    Hi Melanie – what you have written is very interesting. I’ve spoken with a few authors about their process for writing a novel, some like to just flesh it out from a simple idea – no planning – get the first draft out and then start making sense of it all, others – like you – like to plan and have a clear idea of their novel before they start writing. I think I’m a little in between – the plot & characters have changed and evolved as I have written the first draft and in a way that’s felt more natural to me. The different methods are always interesting and you have some great ones! 🙂

    Reply
    1. melanie_unabridged Post author

      Thank you! I make lots of plans but if something changes, I’m open to that. I don’t mind changing a scene on a whim or in revisions. I think the key to successful novel writing is letting yourself be okay with deleting and changing things. For me, the idea of wasting a first draft (1-2 months) on chasing an idea is not feasible.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

