Reblog Wednesday: Peep Show Spin-Offs

I really love taking the time to showcase the blogs of people I know and people I don’t. It forces me to read more blogs and to think about my own.

Today, I have four reblogs.

First, Sabrina’s peep show. Peep Show of The Severing. The Severing is Sabrina’s first novel and I’ve been around for the last year and a half helping her with it. Sabrina was the first person I started editing for and she’s made some amazing progress. I love helping Sabrina with her writing and because of her, I’ve started branching out into the editing business. (so HINT HINT, if you know anyone that needs to hire an editor, I’m good at it!).

Second, AK’s peep show, Peep Show of “Salvaged.” I’ve had a wonderful time getting to know AK and sharing our nerdy interests. Her WIP, Salvaged, is really inticing and makes me think that if I ever get a plot cobbled together for a sci-fi story, she’ll be great help! I am a huge Battlestar Galactica Fan and her peep reminded me of it.

Third, Jason’s peep show, “Peep Show” of Manifestation and its Sequel. He gives us two and he’s made me fall in love with Minerva. She’s got a clear history and the strength to move on (at least physically) so I’m really interested in seeing where she might go. As for the sequel, it’s definitely interesting! A character with kids hints at a different plot than I’m used to (which makes me want to get out of reading YA for a while).

And last but not least, Nat’s peep show, Peep Show of Necromancer: The Awakening. I love necromancers. Not oogy boogy zombie necromancers but the kind like Garth Nix‘s Abhorsen Trilogy so Nat’s title grabbed me right away. Nat also posts amazing, amazing articles about writing that I just think are phenomenal. His blog is a great, great resource to writers. And his story? Well, I am really excited about checking out this reckless new initiate!

Thanks guys for either passing on the challenge or taking up the mantle with great aplomb!

6 thoughts on “Reblog Wednesday: Peep Show Spin-Offs

  1. cantrelljason

    I’m glad you enjoyed my sneak peek!

    Minera (aka “Tock”) is a fun character to write. There’s a lot more to her than just what you see there. Since you mentioned her “children,” here’s another interesting tidbit: those children aren’t flesh and blood people, but rather are magically animated creations she made with her own hands.

    And finding out you’re in the editing business is something I’ll keep in mind. I’m going to need an editor soon.

    Reply
  2. AK

    Thanks for the shout out! 🙂 The WIP I peeped is already done (and currently in a submission process), My current WIP is actually a Science-fiction (or science-fantasy depending on how pick you are about “science”) graphic novel. I’m only on page 7 though! 😀

    Reply
  3. Nat Russo (@NatRusso)

    Thank you so much for your comments, Melanie! I’m really glad you liked the excerpt and I’m so happy you find the blog interesting.

    Since you enjoyed it, and seem to have a thing for necromancers, here’s a teaser:

    The master necromancer in the story is one of the dread Mukhtaar Lords. They achieve their exalted position by passing through the Rite of Testing, which is a process that was once thought mythical…until Mujahid and his brother actually passed the darned test.

    The initiate is Nicolas. He’s from Texas and wound up getting pulled into this magical, violent world through a mystical portal in his living room. Now he has to find out how to get back, and possibly learn something about himself and the *true* nature of Necromancy in the process.

    Necromancers aren’t evil…just misunderstood.

    Looking forward to your reaction when you read it!

    Reply
    1. melanie_unabridged Post author

      That’s really awesome! I do love necromancers unless it’s all zombie, creepy, horror stuff. Garth Nix’s Abhorsen is really neat, more holding the dead at bay than bringing them to life, so I liked that. I can’t wait to see more of your story!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

